David Francey on YouTube!

Well, yesterday I got a Google Alert (oh yes, we are high tech here!) that said:

David Francey – Torn Screen Door
By Thermochronic(Thermochronic)
In the first installment of my music club (stolen shamlessly from the good folks at Crooks and Liars) I’d like to introduce you to David Francey, a Canadian folksinger who has put out some of the best albums I have listened to in the
Apparent Dip – http://apparentdip.blogspot.com/index.html 

So of course I checked it out. And there was a very nice blog about David by a geologist, along with a video. Because we are on dial up I can only see bits of it at a time. But I soon realized this was David (with musicians Dave Clarke and Geoff Somers) singing Milltowns, taken from a Global TV special that David was part of. The Global Special “Thought I heard a Red-winged Blackbird” won a Gold Remi Award at the WorldFest-Houston International Film Festival the special was aired across Canada a few years back. (can you spot Colin and I in the crowd?)

Apparently this video has been watched 57 times. There are other videos from the same special on YouTube. They must have been filmed off the TV because you can see the little Global logo on the bottom left. I was astounded to see these, is this legal? Kind of fun and strange to watch David in this format. I have to add that David was suffering from the onset of a throat infection so was not displaying his best vocal form (laryingitis will do that to you!) So those of you watching these videos who haven’t seen David perform, I want you to know he actually has a lot of power to his voice when he sings! 

According to Macleans Magazine YouTube is “– an Internet site used primarily for the unauthorized distribution of copyrighted material and minute-long clips of people singing karaoke in their basements. ” Time Magazine says “… YouTube [is] still unproven—it has never made much money, and it could be crushed by lawsuits from content creators whose material shows up on the site without permission” Hmmm…should I be posting this? Sorry Global people! Should they get compensation? Should we?

I suppose this means David is famous now. I guess it will soon be time to hire someone to do all my work and he and I will go travelling until he has to make his next youtube appearance!

Below is David, Dave Clarke and Geoff Somers singing Torn Screen Door, which, according to youtube has been watched 227 times! Now why hasn’t anyone written to let me know? This one is protected (hmm??), so click on it to go to YouTube and see what 277 people got to see.

4 Comments

Filed under Canada, David Francey, music, video, Writing, youtube

4 responses to “David Francey on YouTube!

  1. When I posted the videos on my blog I realized I actually had no idea what the legal aspects of YouTube were, kind of made me feel stupid. A week or so ago I was contacted about another post of mine (one that mentioned Mama Cass) by a lawyer. Anyways, long story short, allegedly most people don’t pursue copyright infringement with YouTube because the video quality and length requirements stop “expensive” content from being shared. Many networks and studios actually now encourage YouTube “use” because it acts like free advertising, and it isn’t much of a match for people who would consider buying the DVD or watching the television show to begin with.

    In retrospect I hope me linking to the video was OK! Anyways, that’s what I found out, thanks again for the site and the hours and hours of exceptional music. It is getting me through the winter!

  2. That being said, the videos are all no longer available on YouTube. Is there a DVD available for purchase of that performance?

  3. OK, I just saw David live yesterday afternoon, blows the YouTube experience out of the water. Great show!

  4. How come you press harder on a remote control when you know the battery is dead? =)

Leave a Reply

